Skip to content

Coronavirus Updates: See latest COVID-19 news from Harvard Extension School.

All deadlines are 11:59 pm eastern time unless otherwise specified below.

Fall Term: August 30 – December 18, 2021

  • Thursday, July 1 to Friday, August 20
    Accessibility request period
  • Thursday, July 8
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before fall registration opens
  • Thursday, July 15
    Pre-Registration opens
    Confirm your personal information in your MyDCE account before registration opens
  • Thursday, July 22
    Registration opens at 9 am for degree candidates
    Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
  • Monday, July 26
    Registration opens at 9 am for all students
    Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
  • Thursday, August 12
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before fall registration ends
  • Monday, August 16
    Full payment deadline
    Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through August 26.
  • Thursday, August 19
    English proficiency requirement deadline
  • Thursday, August 26
    Registration deadline
    Last day to register for fall term courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
  • Friday, August 27 to Tuesday, September 7
    Course change period
    For registered students only
  • Monday, August 30
    Classes begin
  • Tuesday, September 7
    Course changes deadline
  • Tuesday, September 7
    Course drop deadline for full-tuition refund
  • Tuesday, September 14
    Course drop deadline for half-tuition refund
  • Monday, November 1 to Wednesday, December 1
    Degree program application dates for fall
  • Friday, November 19
    Withdrawal deadline (no tuition refund)
  • Monday, December 13 to Saturday, December 18
    Final exams and last class meetings
  • Thursday, January 6
    Grades available online in Online Services

January Session: January 3 – 22, 2022

  • Friday, October 1 to Saturday, December 18
    Accessibility request period
  • Thursday, October 28
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before January registration opens
  • Thursday, November 4
    Registration opens at 9 am for degree candidates
    Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
  • Monday, November 8
    Registration opens at 9 am for all students
    Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
  • Thursday, December 2
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before January registration ends
  • Thursday, December 9
    Full payment deadline
    Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through January 3.
  • Thursday, December 16
    English proficiency requirement deadline
  • Monday, January 3
    Registration deadline
    Last day to register for January session courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
  • Monday, January 3
    Classes begin
  • Monday, January 3
    Course drop deadline for full-tuition refund
  • Thursday, January 13
    Withdrawal deadline (no tuition refund)
  • Thursday, January 20
    Final exams and last class meetings
  • Saturday, January 22
    Session ends
  • Tuesday, February 1
    Grades available online in Online Services

Spring Term: January 24 – May 14, 2022

  • Thursday, October 28
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before spring registration opens
  • Monday, November 1 to Thursday, January 13
    Accessibility request period
  • Thursday, November 4
    Registration opens at 9 am for degree candidates
    Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
  • Monday, November 8
    Registration opens at 9 am for all students
    Register early for best choice of courses. You must pay your balance in full by the payment deadline. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists.
  • Thursday, January 6
    Full payment deadline
    Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through January 20.
  • Thursday, January 6
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before spring registration ends
  • Thursday, January 13
    English proficiency requirement deadline
  • Thursday, January 20
    Registration deadline
    Last day to register for spring term courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
  • Friday, January 21 to Sunday, January 30
    Course change period
    For registered students only
  • Monday, January 24
    Classes begin
  • Tuesday, February 1 to Sunday, May 1
    Premedical program application period (apply early; program often fills before deadline)
  • Sunday, January 30
    Course changes deadline
  • Sunday, January 30
    Course drop deadline for full-tuition refund
  • Sunday, February 6
    Course drop deadline for half-tuition refund
  • Tuesday, March 15 to Friday, April 15
    Degree program application period for spring
  • Friday, April 22
    Withdrawal deadline (no tuition refund)
  • Monday, May 9 to Saturday, May 14
    Final exams and last class meetings
  • Tuesday, May 24
    Grades available online in Online Services
  • Thursday, May 26
    Commencement
  • Friday, July 1 to Monday, August 1
    Degree program application period for summer

Summer Term: June 21 – August 6, 2021

  • Thursday, February 11
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before registration begins
  • Tuesday, March 2
    Registration opens for all students
  • Thursday, May 6
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before payment deadline
  • Monday, May 17
    Full payment deadline. Pay your balance in full by this date. If you do not, you risk being dropped from all courses and waitlists. Registration with immediate full payment remains open through June 17.
  • Thursday, June 3
    Last day to take the test of critical reading and writing skills before registration ends
  • Thursday, June 17
    Course registration deadline. Last day to register for summer courses. Late registration is not permitted after this date.
  • Monday, June 21
    Seven-week session and three-week session I classes begin
  • Thursday, July 1 to Sunday, August 1
    Degree program application period for summer
  • Thursday, July 8
    Three-week session I final exams and last class meetings end
  • Monday, July 12
    Three-week session II classes begin
  • Thursday, July 29
    Three-week session II final exams and last class meetings end
  • Friday, August 6
    Seven-week session final exams and last class meetings end

Holiday Calendar 2021-22

No classes meet on the following official University holidays* in 2021-22.

September 6, 2021Labor Day
October 11, 2021Indigenous Peoples’ Day
November 24-28, 2021Thanksgiving Break
December 23, 2021 to January 3, 2022Winter Break
January 17, 2022Martin Luther King Jr. Day
February 21, 2022President’s Day
March 12, 2022 to March 20, 2022Spring Break
May 30, 2022Memorial Day

*Some courses may have class meetings during spring break (see course descriptions). 

Administrative offices are closed on University holidays, weekends, Nov. 11, Nov. 24-28, and Dec. 24 after noon through Jan. 1.